The first rank that EVERY Cub Scout (except Lions) MUST earn when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank. To earn the Bobcat rank the new Cub Scout must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the SCOUT OATH, with help if needed.

"On my honor I will do my best

To do my duty to God and my country

and to obey the Scout Law;

To help other people at all times;

To keep myself physically strong,

mentally awake and morally straight"

2. Learn and say the SCOUT LAW, with help if needed.

"A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent."

3. Show the CUB SCOUT SIGN. Tell what it means.

Cub Scout Sign

The two fingers stand for the Scout Oath and Scout Law. They also look like the sharp ears of a wolf ready to listen to Akela. (Akela is a "good leader" such as your parent or guardian, your den leader or your teacher).

4. Show the CUB SCOUT HANDSHAKE. Tell what it means.

Cub Scout Handshake

It helps each of you to remember the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

5. Say the CUB SCOUT MOTTO. Tell what it means.

"Do Your Best"

6. Give the CUB SCOUT SALUTE. Tell what it means.

Cub Scout Salute

You salute the flag to show respect to our country. Always use the Cub Scout salute when you're in your uniform, otherwise salute by placing your right hand over your heart.

7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the booklet,

How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent's Guide.Link

The above items are the basic information that ALL Cub Scouts must learn, which is why EVERY child who enters into Cub Scouting MUST earn the Bobcat Badge. They only need to complete the rank requirements once in their Cub Scout career.