Awards & Recognition

  1. The most important values in Pinewood Derby competition are parent/child participation, good sportsmanship, and learning how to follow rules. Everyone is responsible for recognizing and encouraging these qualities in addition to traditional racing awards.

  2. Every participating Scout will receive a Pinewood Derby patch presented at registration.

  3. Trophies will be presented to the 3 fastest cars for each Rank in the Scout Derby (Lion, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, Arrow of Light) and in the Sibling Derby. The 1st place winner in Parent and Outlaw Derbies will receive recognition as well.

  4. Additional awards will be presented for various design categories (listed below) for craftsmanship and aesthetics.

Design Awards

  • Best Workmanship

  • Best Paint Design

  • Least Wood

  • Best Name

  • Best Design Not A Car

  • Coolest Design

  • Most Colorful

  • Most Scouty

  • Most Patriotic

Race Trophies